vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

engaged

I placed my plain, flatware spoon into the oversized white mug, cutting into the dense foam. Stirring the cinnimon on top into the foam as I always do, I asked him "How was Europe? Tell me everything." I placed the spoon in my mouth, licking the foam off of it. "Wasn't it everything you dreamed of? So sophisticated and oozing culture." I took the first sip of my chai latte and savoured the blend of warm spices and milk.

"It was incredible," he beamed as he placecd his plain flatware spoon in his oversized mug of rich Columbian coffee and poured some sugar in. He slowly cleaned the spoon of the coffee between his lips and placed it carefully on the saucer beneath his mug with a soft clink. With intense focus on his actions, and his hands clasped around the mug he smirked "We're engaged." Finally he raised his eyes to meet mine.

Winded. I desperately tried not to look devastated and was intensely conscious of my facial expressions. I took a deep breath and faked it, "Congradulations!" I thought I heard my voice crack.

"Thank you," he looked more relaxed as he sipped his Colombian blend, "I am really happy."

"I am really happy for you," I attempted to take a sip fof my latte without choking or spitting it in his face. "I'm just going to go to the ladies room, I'll be right back." I slinked out of the booth as daintily as I could manage.

Two more deep breaths. Engaged?

It is a small world after all. There she is, smiling knowingly back at me from an unlikely source's photographs. Black rimmed glasses without the heart of Cuomo. "Why did he pick her after me?" Plain black hair in a straight edged bob with a slight bang. "Does he love her? Can he love her? Does she rest her head on his chest as they talk about the world? Will she be the one to get the ring?"

Why do I care either way? A turning point is on the way.

Allison

9:14 p.m. - 08/25/2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips