vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you had me at The Clash

Approximately one week ago I met a truly wonderful boy.

It was 7:41 p.m. at Union Station. I punched my ticket while running to track two. We were both running up the stairs hoping we would catch the train. Passengers safe inside the cars gawked at us from their seats. We looked at each other puzzled - "Is he going to open the door? Surely he can see us on the platform." The conductor didn't open the doors and the train pulled away from the station. I gave the conductor the finger as the engine chugged away.

We were both upset about missing the train. At the bottom of the stairs I decided to treat myself to a Chai since I would be spending the next hour on uncomfortable metal seating waiting for the next train. Out of the corner of my eye I noticed he sat one seat away from me - in this huge station - passing the time on his laptop. I felt exposed - sweaty, unwashed hair, wearing the same clothes as the night before.

The 8:43 train was coming in on track two, again. I noticed he waited for me at the bottom of the stairs. "We have to make this train," I joked. He smiled and we began to talk. At first I thought it would be awkward small talk - we'd exchange pleasantries about our experience and take separate seats.

I didn't have the safety of my headphones. You asked why I was in Toronto and I said the Junior Boys show with a friend. You were attending the Hamilton show that evening. Sometimes boys say what they think you want to hear.

Your favourite band is my favourite: The Clash. You are traveling in November to South America for six weeks. We talked about ska. You're a mac user - before it was trendy. You said you were going to make me a mix CD. I smiled. You had me at The Clash.

I wondered if it was some kind of joke. Here is this cute boy with shiny blue eyes who shares my love of music and travel. Was he made for me? Is he an android?

Everything happens for a reason. I was supposed to miss that train so we could have a reason to talk. Otherwise, we might have gotten on, smiled, and taken our seats separately - blissfully ignorant of how much we have in common.

Love happens when you least expect it. I had to laugh at points because it seemed too good to be true. You had to have some flaw - a girlfriend. But you asked me for my email and if I wanted to come with you to the Junior Boys show.

I gave you all my contact information - the real stuff - and you emailed that night. Usually I hate emoticons in emails, but I found your use of the smiley endearing.

Suddenly, the scar from last week is much less noticeable. I feel less vulnerable and hurt. I see there is a world for me outside what seems like a prison now.

I want to drink lots of water and detoxify myself - my life. I want to write again. I want to buy flowers and plant them on my fire escape. I want to buy lingerie with the realistic expectation I might use it. I want him to be my date to the wedding. I hope I am not disappointed. I hope unrequited is vanquished from my vocabulary. I wish he picks something romantic to do before we attend a party next weekend.

Cross your fingers.

xo Allison

5:31 p.m. - 06/15/2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips