vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One Year On

�I haven�t seen you all that excited about any of these guys,� my Mom said. �Not like you were with him.�

�You�re right,� I said. I think I explained that I have had moments of excitement, but that dating has become routine and I don�t get that nervous excitement in anticipation of a date anymore. Maybe, I said, I am trying to protect myself � to stop myself from feeling vulnerable � from getting hurt.

I don�t know if that nervous, anxious excitement will happen the next time I fall in love. Or if I will fall in love again. Maybe, instead of intense lust, it will be a slow building fire. Or maybe I had my great love and that�s it. Maybe I am simply looking for a life companion at this point. Someone to make the journey more enjoyable.

I watch a lot of Bollywood movies. I love the lavish costumes and sets, the catchy song and dance numbers, the over-the-top drama. But, I have to admit, they are all virtually the same. A silly, immature boy falls in love with a sophisticated, smart girl. She rolls her eyes at him and he goofs around trying to make her laugh. They are forced to work together or to be in close proximity somehow and fall in love. There is some impediment to their love. But, given that the idea that there is one right person � one true love � is prevalent in these films � they strive to overcome this impediment to get to happily ever after.

And lately, perhaps because I have been watching one too many of these movies, I am beginning to rethink (again) love. When I was a teen, I thought there was one true love and that you just had to find that person. After I ended my relationship with my first true love, I � perhaps out of fear � amended my view and decided that love must be something someone can experience more than once or, at the very least, what I thought was love, was not. Then I met him. We were head over heels immediately. I thought I met the capital O One. But the flame slowly burned out. And, I fully committed to my view that one can have multiple loves in a lifetime. That there are many different people we can fall in love with.

But as I continue to kiss frogs, I can�t help but begin to question whether everyone gets love in the end. Maybe there are some people who will experience true painful love. And, maybe the rest of us will have a deep companionship, but not crazy love. Perhaps our expectations are out of whack.

That kind of depressing notion aside, if there is one more love out there for me, how do I find it? I feel like I�ve been searching pretty hard for a year or so now and I�ve yet to find anything even close. Am I looking in all the wrong places? Should I be looking at all? Is that awful expression: �Love happens when you least expect it,� true?

I don't trust my instincts anymore.

I used to be quite cynical and skeptical about the advances of men. I was the kind of girl who was able to evaluate things from 10,000 feet, like a general I would map out the course of a particular love battle and decide if I liked where things were headed. If I got an incling that something was up, I moved on or, in some cases, would not begin dating a guy. The result of that was I didn't date much. Now, I am trying to be much more open-minded, a giver of chances, an optimist, date more, but I also find myself more disappointed.

In fact, I've dated nearly a dozen different men in the last year. Different in that they are literally different people and, in that they were a variety of different types. When I run back over them in my memories, I can pinpoint a moment that the old me would have cut things off. Yet, I didn't.

And, I've doubled the number of men I've had sex with in my life over the course of the last 6 or 8 months. Only one or two were good in bed. Many had trouble performing.

Part of me wants to chalk it all up to experience. I'm young and modern, exploring what I like and don't like. Learning much about myself. But, all this learning through trial and error, and the painful introspection that follows, is tiring.

Dating is work. That nervous excitement I used to get before a date -- like I might throw up -- is gone. It's old hat. I find myself reciting the same old script about how I landed my dream job and hitting the same punchline about how I whisper smart things in my host's ear. I bore myself. That must be written on my face. I catch myself writing these poor guys off quickly. I ask them what they read and, Palin-like, they say lots of things and when pressed, one newspaper. If he has time. Next, I think. I've fallen into the trap of infinite choice. There are billions of people on earth right now. I just have to keep searching. There is a one.

And, of course, this whole thing is also emotionally draining. I thought I could compartmentalize sex as an act separate from love. But I get attached. I begin to like how it feels when he has his arms wrapped around me. And I lose my rationality. I lose my cynicism. I'm tired and I want to believe he's the guy. That I've kissed enough frogs.

Or, worse yet, my ego kicks in and because he seems nonplussed about me, I want him more. I want him to like me because he has challenged me. It's gross. Spiteful. Destructive. That's a word I've been thinking about a lot lately. How what I've been doing is self-destructive. And I don't want to do it anymore. I'm not giving up on love or dating. I just need to spend more of my energy on loving myself again. Building my own happiness back.

I say that and then I find myself sitting around in my one-bedroom apartment, wondering if I should give that old online dating site one more kick at the can. I look at a few more profiles and sigh... I can't get into it. The prospect of putting myself out there one more time. Of facing further disappointment becomes a deterrent. And I realize that I place way too much stock on what men think of me. Way too much of my self worth is determined by the affections of men.

So I resolve to stop actively looking for love. To stop desperately looking for it. No more. Just me.

9:02 p.m. - 06/11/2012

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips