vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this is a thank you entry for le tigre

I came home last night at about 1 sporting my crisp white le tigre shirt, sweaty and hot with jeans plastered to my legs and a smile on my face.

Everyone has some kind of personal hero or idol, if you will, that means the world to them. I have had bands that I really really liked and it was amazing to see them live but I have never been really gaga over someone.

Last night I had that feeling when you come so close to someone who is an entity to you. When Kathleen Hanna came onto the stage and took her place, all I could do was put my hand on my chest. I was speechless. I wasn't sure if she was going to be really fun or really intense. She was so much fun. The band had a great dynamic between them, joking around and having fun. It didn't feel like they were rockstars, they felt like your friends and you were just rocking out in your basement. Everyone was just dancing and singing along and having an amazing time. The other great thing to see was the respect people had for the band when they had something to say between songs. It actually went quiet. I have never seen that at a show before. Another great part was seeing all the boys that were there. It wasn't even that they were just going with their girlfriend, they were dancing and singing along too. It was such an incredible atmosphere, there is nothing more exhilerating then being surrounded by people who love the band as much as you do and aren't afraid to look silly dancing or singing or sweating. And the band puts it all out there, dancing, playing their best and talking to you on the level. Of course, there are some people who are way too cool to dance or sing along, but the vast majority were going crazy.

The set list was killer. From what I remember, in no particular order:

* "what's yr take on cassevettes"

* "hot topic"

* "decepticon"

* "keep on livin"

* "les and ray"

* "fyr"

* "well well well"

* "on guard"

* "much finer"

* "tgif"

* "medocrity rules"

*"bang bang"

The best was when they played "les and ray", I never thought they would play that song live and it is one of my favourites from the album. The other best part was when they ended with "keep on livin", killer song and everyone sang along.

It was just one of those really great shows. I placed it as number one on my list of best concerts of the summer. So far that list goes:

1. Le Tigre

2. The Red Light Sting, Femme Fatale, Kill Mannequin

3. The Hives

4. Mini Fest

5. Hot Hot Heat

I'm not sure if it will remain this way, it all depends on the upcoming shows.

I just had to write about last night, even if my clumsy words don't do it justice. In a sentence, kathleen Hanna is a goddess and these girls know how to rock.

Love always

Alli xoxoxo

5:30 p.m. - 2002-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips