vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

don't you turn your sweet back on love

I have so many things to tell you! So bear with me while I gush like a fourteen year old who touched Justin Timberlake at an N'sync concert. I have been tremendously busy but beautious and wonderously busy. I have been occupied by the things I adore: writers craft assignments [I bitch at the time but I love the finished product] isu's [little intricate compilations of what I have learned] a fabulous drama history assignment [ we get to choose a period of history and research theatre as well as the period itself. then we get to perform a scene from that period as well as write our own short play. we have 19th century (realism and naturalism) and early 20th century (theatre of the absurd)] and various small assignments. I am also getting, :: gasp :: INVOLVED in school activities, this year I am joining the "Rage for Order" committee [school poetry anthology] as well as this mock trial tournement involved with law and attending formal. My god! What happened to that little cynic we all knew until recently.

I don't have a date for formal as of yet but I have some people in mind, more in a friend sort of way though. But for sake of a girlie story, dig this. On Halloween my friend invited me to come to her boyfriends halloween party/ Rocky Horror viewing. I decided to tag along since it would be a lot of fun, because I love Rocky Horror and because it is better then trick or treating. After a great deal of transportation, Go-train to subway to bus to walking, we arrived at his house. A bunch of his friends from school were there, all very nice and extremely interesting people. We ordered some pizza, my friends boyfriend read some Leonard Cohen poetry and his friend an essay on not buying a new car. After the pizza, some real classics were played from the stereo and everyone was dancing and singing at top volume in the crowded living room. It was about 8:30 and the show was at 9 so we all prepared to go to the theatre. A couple of the boys decided that they would dress up, in flashy/feminine clothing. They borrowed my red lipstick and some other make up and soon enough we were off. The theatre was classic and beautiful. Tons of people were there, most dressed up in some sort of costume, only some as the movie characters. Unless you have seen the movie it is hard to explain why this type of things occurs but for the die-hard fans it is ritualistic. Every Halloween they gather and watch the movie, bringing props and shouting things at specific moments. It is so much fun. We brought as many props as we could and we dressed up goth style since we didn't have time/energy for full out costumes. My favourite part was when the time warp came on and everyone in the theatre stood up dancing and singing along. Incredible. All in all, it was an awesome night, good people and good times. It also turns out, I later found out when speaking with the girl I went with, that one of her boyfriends friends really liked me. I must admit that I am seriously considering it. Here are some of the photos I took that night:

Enjoy! .

On a kind of sad note, I am feeling sort of detached from people at the moment, particularly some friends of mine. I just feel as though they aren't really listening to me, that they are just attempting to get their word in or vent. I guess I just feel resentful because I try to listen as much as possible and help people work things out or just be a sounding board. I just think that it isn't a lot to ask to recieve that in return. It's an on and off and it's not a dire situation just a frustration. I just try as best I can to give people the benefit of the doubt and believe in them.

On a completely seperate topic, Janis Joplin Live, the two album set is so beautiful. But then again, everything is better on vinyl.

Love

Alli xoxo

8:49 p.m. - 2002-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips