vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dead leaves

Playing hide and seek. Everyone hates to be 'it.' Hands cupped over my eyes. I trust I will find them. That they won't just run away.

Open my eyes. They're all gone.

I have no friends anymore. And just like a child, I don't understand why. "What did I do wrong Mommy?" Maybe last year it was the excitement of new love that distracted me from tending to my friendships. This year it is my masters, my previously unemployed boyfriend and co-habitation. As I look at the withered, brittle leaves, I wish I'd watered it more. Put it in a better spot for sun. Pulled the dry dead leaves from its pot more regularly. Friends are like envelopes of 35mm photographs tucked away in a shoebox. Maybe someday I'll organize them into an album. Blow my favourites up and frame them. Not today. There's too much to do.

My heart hurts. I'll try to plant some new seeds in the spring. It's too grey to think about flowers right now.

Allison

5:13 p.m. - 02/12/2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips