vinylgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bad habits

"Are you feeling discouraged?" he asked leaning back in his chair with his hands behind his head.

"Honestly," I said, "Yes." But I was not feeling discouraged because of the "current economic climate."

Have you ever had one of those moments where you catch yourself in a bad habit � saying like or too many ums? Well I had that moment Saturday night where I caught myself saying how poor I am for the umpteen time. I wanted to stitch my lips. Bad habits. I remember that my parents promised me a Miss Piggy watch if I stopped sucking my thumb. A tough task since I was quite fond of the habit. But somehow I managed and relished the watch when I got it. Proud. Feeling grown up.

I imagine jaundice-like nicotine stains on my fingers � the marks of addiction. Physical evidence of mental torment. When did I lose my vigor. When did I become socially awkward.

Then I saw the email. Staff contacts changed. And Miss Journalism 2009 (I discovered her accolades after I googled her). Add: when did doubt become default. I try to tell myself I am talented and I will travel some day. But I can't hear it over the screech of the subway.

Allison

11:07 p.m. - 05/25/2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

princessella
clearance
strayrecluse
bang-
gypsytales
quoted
ironic-lips